The Brag Media
News December 6, 2017

Alex Lahey, Courtney Barnett & Kurt Vile, Jen Cloher make 13th AMP longlist

Alex Lahey, Courtney Barnett & Kurt Vile, Jen Cloher make 13th AMP longlist

The 13th Australian Music Prize (AMP) Longlist has been announced to reveal a list of the best Australian artist albums of 2017.

Of over 400 albums released in the 2017 calendar year, 45 artists are now vying for the $30,000 cash prize, thanks to PPCA.

The expert team of AMP judges, led by Chairperson Dave Faulkner, have included Jen Cloher‘s self-titled record on the longlist, alongside her partner Courtney Barnett and Kurt Vile‘s collaborative record Lotta Sea Lice. 

Jen Cloher said: “The AMP is Australia’s most important music prize because it’s judged purely on artistic merit. Having been both a judge and a nominee, I’ve seen the incredible amount of thought that goes into selecting the shortlist.

“Anyone who lands on there can be assured that it’s no accident. Australians are making some of the best music in the world at the moment. $30,000 can go a long way towards touring and recording your next album – another important reason to get behind the AMP!”

Chris Cowburn from fellow nominated act The Smith Street Band said: “We’re absolutely honoured that our album has been Longlisted for the AMP prize. It’s truly wonderful to be even mentioned in the same breath as so many amazing Australian artists. Best of luck to all the nominees!”

The 13th AMP Longlist:

Alex Lahey – ‘I Love You Like A Brother’

Ali Barter – ‘A Suitable Girl’

Alex Cameron – ‘Forced Witness’

Beaches – ‘Second of Spring’

Ben Salter – ‘Back Yourself’

Billy Davis – ‘A Family Portrait’

Birdz – ‘Train of Thought’

BOAT SHOW – ‘Groundbreaking Masterpiece’

Boo Seeka – ‘Never Too Soon’

Brightness – ‘Teething’

Cable Ties- ‘Cable Ties’

Cameron Avery – ‘Ripe Dreams, Pipe Dreams’

The Creases – ‘Tremolow’

Courtney Barnett, Kurt Vile – ‘Lotta Sea Lice’

Cub Sport – ‘BATS’

Dappled Cities- ‘IIIII’

Darcy Baylis – ‘Intimacy & Isolation’

Ecca Vandal – ‘Ecca Vandal’

EWAH & The Vision of Paradise – ‘Everything Fades to Blue’

Gang of Youths – ‘Go Farther In Lightness’

Glitter Veils – ‘Figures in Sight’

Gold Class – ‘Drum’

Gordi – ‘Reservoir’

Gretta Ziller – ‘Queen of Boomtown’

Hazel English – ‘Just Give In/Never Going Home’

Holly Throsby – ‘After A Time’

Jen Cloher – ‘Jen Cloher’

Jess Locke – ‘Universe’

Jordan Ireland with Purple Orchestra – ‘Jordan Ireland with Purple Orchestra’

Jordan Rakei – ‘Wallflower’

Kasey Chambers – ‘Dragonfly’

King Gizzard & the Wizard Lizard – ‘Flying Microtonal Banana’

Liars – ‘TFCF’

Machine Translations – ‘Oh’

Mere Women – ‘Big Skies’

Methyl Ethel – ‘Everything Is Forgotten’ Nerve Quakes – ‘A New State’

Paul Kelly – ‘Life Is Fine’

Pond – ‘The Weather’

Sampa The Great – ‘Birds and the BEE9’

The Smith Street Band – ‘More Scared Of You Than You Are Of Me’

Tim Rogers – ‘An Actor Repairs’

Time For Dreams – ‘In Time’

Tornado Wallace – ‘Lonely Planet’

Underground Lovers – ‘Staring At You Staring At Me’

The Vampires – ‘The Vampires Meet Lionel Loueke’

The 13th AMP Shortlist will be announced in late January, before the winner is announced in early March.

This article originally appeared on The Industry Observer, which is now part of The Music Network.


Powered by
Looking to hire? List your vacancy today!

Related articles