The Brag Media ▼
News March 3, 2021

2021 Queensland Music Awards submissions hit record high

2021 Queensland Music Awards submissions hit record high
Conrad Sewell & Amy Shark were among last year’s winners / Photographer: Aimee Catt

This year’s Queensland Music Awards (QMAs) today revealed that submissions for the May 5 event have hit a record high with more than 100 music videos and almost 1,000 song entries.

Organisers have also introduced a new category called the Innovation Award.

Angela Samut, CEO of awards presenter QMusic said the quantity and high-calibre of song and music video submissions that have been submitted for this year’s QMAs is a testament to “the talent, resilience and relentless passion” of Queensland musicians and their teams.

“We are so proud to see the level of artistry, storytelling and music that our industry has continued to create over the past 12 months where most have experienced, and continue to experience, unprecedented hardship.”

Samut said noted the Innovation Award was an acknowledgement of the artists and businesses that have managed to create new ways to not only survive, but thrive, in 2020 and beyond.

It is open to the public and self-nominations from all music industry businesses, organisations, artists or individuals who innovated in the Queensland music space in 2020.

Judges will assess the Innovation Award nominations on innovation, uniqueness and creativity, practical application, profit, sustainability and potential longevity.

Also appearing this year is the Contemporary Classical and the Children’s Music categories.

The Emerging Artist Of The Year Award, introduced last year, was won by Brisbane’s Hope D who went on to place in triple j’s Hottest 100, released her debut EP Cash Only to critical acclaim, and is about to embark on her debut sold-out national tour.

The 100+ judging panel includes Andrew Stone (Chugg Entertainment), Casey O’Shaughnessy (Select Music), Christina Thiers (Warner Music Australia), Declan Byrne (triple j), Maya Janeska (Believe Digital), Annie Chung (WME), Harry Young (Dew Process), Konstantin Kersting (producer), Joe Alexander (Bedroom Suck Records), Mark Holland (EMI) and Sahara Herald (Frontier Touring).

The QMAs are held at The Fortitude Music Hall in Brisbane.


Powered by
Looking to hire? List your vacancy today!

Related articles