The Brag Media
News September 9, 2020

Classical, jazz & experimental artists win 2020 Art Music Awards

Classical, jazz & experimental artists win 2020 Art Music Awards
Louise Devenish / by Rachael Barrett

The 2020 Art Music Awards were once again presented by APRA AMCOS and the Australian Music Centre (AMC), recognising the achievements of creatives around Australia.

The awards exist to acknowledge the important achievements of composers, performers and educators in the genres of contemporary classical music, jazz, improvisation, sound art and experimental music.

The 10th edition of the awards was co-hosted virtually by Jonathan Biggins, Dr Lou Bennett AM and Zela Margossian overnight.

This year saw new and restructured categories announced, with winning artists spanning the country from East to West, and from Tasmania to the Northern Territory.

Dharug composer Chris Sainsbury was presented with the inaugural Luminary Award for an individual, for sustained contribution over several years, for initiating and driving the Ngarra-Burria: First Nations Composers program.

“Chris’ work over the past five years has had a national impact in both training emerging First Nations composers and redefining their role and future within Australian art music,” said the judging panel.

Other notable winners included The Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, the recipient for the Luminary Award for an Organisation, for long-term commitment offering professional development for Australian composers and musicians.

Western Australian percussionist Louise Devenish won the Notated Music category, while Sandy Evans’s Bridge of Dreams team (Sandy Evans, Shubha Mudgal, Aneesh Pradhan and Sirens Big Band) took home the inaugural Performance of the Year: Jazz/Improvised Music Award.

New Work Of The Year had two winners for the first time, going to Elliott Gyger and Pierce Wilcox’s Oscar and Lucinda, and Cat Hope’s Speechless.

The Award for Excellence in Music Education went to Netanela Mizrahi and Guwanbal Gurruwiwi for the Djari Project.

The previously announced Richard Gill Award for Distinguished Services to Australian Music was handed to Dr Ros Bandt.

The performance program was curated by Barney McAll.

Check out the full list of winners here.

Related articles