News October 10, 2019

Teskey Bros & Sampa The Great lead Music Victoria Awards nominees

Teskey Bros & Sampa The Great lead Music Victoria Awards nominees

Former Music Victoria Awards winners Teskey Bros and Sampa The Great are expected to return to the podium when the awards return on Wednesday, November 20.

The two acts, along with Fuck Storm and recent Levi’s Prize winner Gordon Koang, are each up for five wins.

Music Victoria also revealed that Vika & Linda Bill and radio station 3PB 106.7FM (celebrating its 40th year) will be inducted into its Hall of Fame.

Amyl and The Sniffers and rising hip hop act DRMNGNOW received four nominations, and Angie McMahon had three.

Music Victoria noted that many names were first-time nominees.

Among the categories for public voting are:

Best Band: Amyl and the Sniffers, Cash Savage and The Last Drinks, King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard, The Teskey Brothers, Tropical Fuck Storm.

Best Live Act: Amyl and the Sniffers, King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, Mildlife, Sampa The Great. Tropical Fuck Storm.

Best Breakthrough Act: DRMNGNOW, Gena Rose Bruce, G Flip, Gordon Koang. Tones And I.

Other public votes are for best album, song, solo artist, male musician, female musician, small venue (under 500 capacity) and best large venue (over 500).

Voting closes at midnight on Friday, November 8.

The industry will also vote for best festival, regional/outer suburban act, regional/outer suburban venue, the Archie Roach Foundation award for emerging talent and a host of genre categories.

Related articles